Blog Archives

Galveston Wharf Stories

Book Signing: Saturday, January 13th, 2018, 2:00-4:00 p.m. Alvin L. Sallee joins us on Saturday with his new book Galveston Wharf Stories. The Port and Its People It’s impossible to know Galveston without knowing something about the port. Local people

Posted in Meet & Greet, News, Signings

The Last to See Me

Book Signing: Thursday, October 19th, 2017, 6:00-8:00 p.m. Mylene Dressler, joins us with her latest novel. Ms Dressler is a former Galveston resident, and author of “The Deadwood Beetle,” and “The Medusa.” For readers of Lauren Oliver and Alice Sebold,

Posted in Announcments, Meet & Greet, News, Signings

Long Fall from Heaven

Book Signing: Saturday, October 14th, 2017, 3:00-5:00 p.m. George Wier, joins us with his Galveston-set mystery thriller, co-written by Milton T. Burton. Cueball Boland and Micah Lanscomb, both ex-cops with troubled pasts, stumble into the path of a serial killer.

Posted in Announcments, Meet & Greet, News, Signings

Tattooed on My Soul

Book Signing: Friday, October 13th, 2017, 6:00-8:00 p.m. Stephen M. Sloan, joins us with this new collection of the personal experiences of Texas WWII veterans in the war. For over forty years, Baylor University has gathered the flesh-and-blood memories of

Posted in Announcments, Meet & Greet, News, Signings

Galveston Seawall Chronicles

Book Signing: Saturday, July 15th, 2017, 3:00-5:00 p.m. Kimber Fountain will join us Saturday with her history of the island’s seawall and the boulevard that runs its length. Along Galveston’s Gulf Coast runs a seventeen-foot-high, ten-mile-long protective barrier, built in

Posted in Announcments, Meet & Greet, News, Signings

Healthy Happy Cooking

Book Signing: Saturday, June 10th, 2017, 2:00-4:00 p.m. Galveston resident Lisa Lewis joins us with her new cookbook. Between work, school, sporting events and more, families are busier than ever. But that’s no reason to sacrifice home-cooked, healthy meals. In

Posted in Meet & Greet, News, Signings

Call for Resumes: March 2017

Galveston Bookshop is currently (March 2017) accepting resumes. If you meet the following qualifications and would like to join our team, please send us your detailed resume as well as the additional materials detailed below. Candidate Requirements: – College educated

Posted in Announcments, News

Horror Texas Style

Saturday, January 28th, 2017, 2:00-4:00 p.m. Road Kill: Texas Horror by Texas Writers E. R. Bills joins us with his new anthology of horror fiction from Texas writers. ROAD KILL Author E. R. Bills has assembled an anthology of horror

Posted in Meet & Greet, News, Signings

Ghosts of Galveston

Saturday, October 22nd, 2016, 2:00-4:00 p.m. Kathleen Shanahan Maca joins us on Saturday with her new haunted history of Galveston. Ghosts of Galveston Soft cover, $19.99 Galveston Bookshop will participate in two book signing events in October: At Galveston Bookshop

Posted in Announcments, Meet & Greet, News, Signings

Convict Cowboys

Saturday, September 24th, 2016, 2:00-4:00 p.m. Mitchel P. Roth joins us on Saturday with his latest book, a history of the Texas Prison Rodeo. Convict Cowboys: The Untold History of the Texas Prison Rodeo Convict Cowboys is the first book

Posted in Meet & Greet, News, Signings
Email Newsletter
Sign up HERE for our email events newsletter. We publish about twice a month, and there's an easy unsubscribe link in every mailing if things don't work out for you.
Vinyl LPs
  • Saralyn is here! The book is Murder in the One Percent. ,
  • Book signings today: 1:00p - Saralyn Richard with Murder in the One Percent 3:00p - Steve Alexander with Exploring… ,
  • three one four one five nine two math is sweet and so are you ~staff poet,
  • Double book signing event this Saturday: 1:00 pm - Saralyn Richard: Murder in the One Percent 3:00 pm - Steve Alexa… ,
  • Carson is camping in the book forest. ,