The Last to See Me

Book Signing: Thursday, October 19th, 2017, 6:00-8:00 p.m.

Mylene Dressler, joins us with her latest novel. Ms Dressler is a former Galveston resident, and author of “The Deadwood Beetle,” and “The Medusa.”

last-to-see-me-cover-340wFor readers of Lauren Oliver and Alice Sebold, “The Last to See Me” is a sophisticated, literary ghost story that reminds us the past is never, ever forgotten.

In a small logging town in northern California, young Emma Rose Finnis was born and died. Now, no one remembers her hardworking life and her grand dreams–but she remembers. She remembers everything. Emma Rose is still here, one hundred years after her death … and she doesn’t plan on leaving.

But when a determined hunter arrives with instructions to “clean” Emma Rose out of her haunt, the stately Lambry mansion, death suddenly isn’t the worst fate imaginable. Emma Rose refuses to be hounded from the only place she’s ever found peace, even if it means waging a war on the living and the dead.

Lyrical and haunting, this spellbinding American ghost story alternates between Emma Rose’s life and afterlife as the past and present become entwined in a compelling tale of loss, love and tenacity over a century in the making.

Posted in Announcments, Meet & Greet, News, Signings
Galveston Bookshop
Book Signings Book Cover Image

Saturday, November 18th
2:00-4:00 p.m.

Unforgettable Texans
By Bartee Haile

Store Hours

Monday-Saturday 10-6
Sunday 10-4

(409) 750-8200

317 23rd Street
Galveston, TX 77550
Visa MasterCard Discover American Express
Gus the bookstore cat. 2002-2015
Email Newsletter
Sign up HERE for our email events newsletter. We publish about twice a month, and there's an easy unsubscribe link in every mailing if things don't work out for you.
WE HAVE VINYL LPs
Vinyl LPs
  • Mr. Bartee Haile is here with 4 of his titles, all Texas themes. ,
  • Rare, limited 1st printing of this biography of James Pope Cole (1814–1886) an early settler of Galveston and a chi… ,
  • "Come and take it." Texas Dissident by E. R. Bills ,
  • "Unforgettable Texans" with Bartee Haile today at 2:00 Texans who were unforgettable, but got forgotten somehow an… ,
  • "I’m whispering all my secrets into a megaphone, standing on the highway median like a misplanted fern." - Emma Reb… ,