The Last to See Me

Book Signing: Thursday, October 19th, 2017, 6:00-8:00 p.m.

Mylene Dressler, joins us with her latest novel. Ms Dressler is a former Galveston resident, and author of “The Deadwood Beetle,” and “The Medusa.”

last-to-see-me-cover-340wFor readers of Lauren Oliver and Alice Sebold, “The Last to See Me” is a sophisticated, literary ghost story that reminds us the past is never, ever forgotten.

In a small logging town in northern California, young Emma Rose Finnis was born and died. Now, no one remembers her hardworking life and her grand dreams–but she remembers. She remembers everything. Emma Rose is still here, one hundred years after her death … and she doesn’t plan on leaving.

But when a determined hunter arrives with instructions to “clean” Emma Rose out of her haunt, the stately Lambry mansion, death suddenly isn’t the worst fate imaginable. Emma Rose refuses to be hounded from the only place she’s ever found peace, even if it means waging a war on the living and the dead.

Lyrical and haunting, this spellbinding American ghost story alternates between Emma Rose’s life and afterlife as the past and present become entwined in a compelling tale of loss, love and tenacity over a century in the making.

Posted in Announcments, Meet & Greet, News, Signings
Galveston Bookshop
Book Signings Book Cover Image

Saturday, April 28th
2:00-4:00 p.m.

The Downfall of
Galveston's
May Walker Burleson

By T. Felder Dorn

Store Hours

Monday-Saturday 10-6
Sunday 10-4

(409) 750-8200

317 23rd Street
Galveston, TX 77550
Visa MasterCard Discover American Express
Gus the bookstore cat. 2002-2015
Email Newsletter
Sign up HERE for our email events newsletter. We publish about twice a month, and there's an easy unsubscribe link in every mailing if things don't work out for you.
WE HAVE VINYL LPs
Vinyl LPs
  • T. Jefferson Parker giving the stink-eye to you Lee Child shoppers. ,
  • bellissimo! ,
  • all that, and a sleeping cat ,
  • Lest we forget: The Open Gates : the George Sealy Residence by Jane Pinckard and Rebecca Pinckard (1988) signed cop… ,
  • Transparent night turns like a silent mill, grinding out stars. Pablo Neruda - from: "Ode to a Village Movie Theater" ,